Category Archives: Uncategorized

Renewables produce 32.5% of Germany’s power in H1 2015

SeeNews

Renewable power plants in Germany generated 32.5% of the country’s electricity in the first half of 2015, mainly thanks to wind power capacity additions, the Renewable Energy Federation (BEE) said Tuesday.

Germany has witnessed strong growth in onshore wind, but at the same time there is a notable decline in solar photovoltaic (PV) and biogas installations, commented BEE head Hermann Falk. …

Posted on by Lasma Livzeniece | Posted in Uncategorized |

Global businesses turn to wind power

– Global Wind Day is celebrated on 15 June

Worldwide, 15 June. As the global climate crisis deepens, and political attention to climate increases in the run up to the Paris Climate summit in December, on Global Wind Day we celebrate the fact that more and more companies are turning to clean, reliable and cost-effective wind energy …

Posted on by Lauha Fried | Posted in spotlight, Uncategorized |

Five Reasons Why the Wind Industry Will Make Your Day

The Huffington Post

Let’s face it – extreme weather, floods and droughts, melting ice and disappearing species as a result of climate change are enough to ruin anyone’s day. So here’s some good news for a change, brought to you by the wind industry:

1. Wind power had a fantastic year in 2014, led by China which installed more than 23 …

Posted on by Lasma Livzeniece | Posted in Uncategorized |

Global Wind Power Outlook for 2015 and Beyond (21 April 2015, 3pm CEST)

Time: 9:00 AM EDT (Eastern Daylight Time, USA) / 8:00 AM CDT (Central Daylight Time, USA) / 6:00 AM PDT (Pacific Daylight Time, USA) / 1:00 PM GMT (Greenwich Mean Time, UK) / 3:00 PM CET (Central European Time)

REGISTER HERE

The wind industry set a new record for annual installations in 2014: globally, 51,477 MW of new wind generating capacity was …

Posted on by Lasma Livzeniece | Posted in Uncategorized |

Wind Investors Must Shed Middle East Misconceptions

For companies in the wind sector, however, the reception they have received in the oil-rich region has been decidedly cooler. Governments in the region have been slow to recognise how wind and other renewables can fit with their traditional oil and gas operations; and most of the nations that have committed to ‘green’targets have not brought in laws to give investors …

Posted on by Lasma Livzeniece | Posted in GWEC Newsletters, Uncategorized |

Wind industry set a new record for annual installations in 2014

Balkans News

After a slowdown in 2013, the wind industry set a new record for annual installations in 2014. Globally, 51,477 MW of new wind generating capacity was added in 2014 according to the global wind market statistics released today by the Global Wind Energy Council (GWEC). The record-setting figure represents a 44% increase in the annual market, and is a …

Posted on by Lasma Livzeniece | Posted in Uncategorized |

Global Wind Power Back on Track

Annual market grows by 44%, passes 50 GW for the first time

After a slowdown in 2013, the wind industry set a new record for annual installations in 2014. Globally, 51,477 MW of new wind generating capacity was added in 2014 according to the global wind market statistics released today by the Global Wind Energy Council (GWEC). The record-setting figure represents …

Posted on by Lauha Fried | Posted in Press releases, spotlight, Uncategorized |

Who’s Winning The Wind Race? China Or The US?

Clean Technica

Much has been made of China’s meteoric wind energy installation figures over the past few years, seeing them top the charts of wind installed at over 90 GW. However, according to the American Wind Energy Association (AWEA), just because China has the most wind energy installed does not mean they are producing the most wind energy — a title …

Posted on by Communications | Posted in GWEC in press, Uncategorized |

In just 15 years, wind could provide a fifth of the world’s electricity

Grist

Up to one fifth of the world’s electricity supply could come from wind turbines by 2030, according to a new report released this week by Greenpeace and the Global Wind Energy Council (GWEC). That would be an increase of 530 percent compared to the end of last year.

The report says the coming global boom in wind power will be driven …

Posted on by Lasma Livzeniece | Posted in Uncategorized |

Posted on by admin | Posted in Uncategorized |